Awoo.

How many Sonic games are actually challenging?

Dscross

I ran through Sonic Mania first try, hardly any lives lost. So it got me thinking about other Sonic games I've played. I can't remember having very many bumpy rides - or perhaps I'm remembering incorrectly because I have so many years of experience in them. I love sonic games, but should they be more challenging?

There are only 4 that come to mind that I've found hard on the first try (I'm not counting the broken games like 06).

1. Sonic 2 8 Bit (Game Gear Version)

2. Dr Robotnik's Mean bean Machine (but is that really classed as a Sonic game?)

3. Sonic Spinball (last level only)

4. Sonic Unleashed (last level only)

The others, I would argue, have all been really easy... thoughts?

I think you're just good at them dude.  People have a wide variety of skillsets, and generally speaking Sonic games are seen as having a pretty standard difficulty level, easy to begin, tough in the middle, very hard towards the end.  Difficulty is very subjective.  I got through Mania without a Game Over first time, my wife got two Game Overs on Flying Battery Act 2 and was ready to call it quits until I got her past the bit she couldn't do because she was bored of having to replay Act 1 over and over.

On the flipside, referring to your list, I feel Sonic Spinball gets boringly annoying from the second stage onwards, but Sonic 2 8-bit is cake for me, I've played it since I was a kid.  While I grew up with the Master System version, even the notorious Game Gear version poses me little resistance now.  Of course there was a time where, like everyone else, I never saw past the Underground Zone.  And after that, hang gliding through Sky High Act 2's spike tunnel was a very threatening proposition to me once.  Nowadays I can't believe a 3-second long set piece blocked my path for so long.

But yeah, I've never heard of a widespread opinion that Sonic games are easy before.

• Thumbs Up 1
  • Nice Smile 1