Awoo.

Sonic Generations modding assistance thread.

LeBronFilms

Hey guys,

I'm pretty new to Sonic Generations modding. I was wondering if anyone knows why the game keeps crashing on me. At the moment, I'm currently just testing ripping and placing models back into the game, using this process:

1. Extract chr_Sonic_HD.model from Sonic.ar00 (Generations Archive Editor)

2. Convert chr_Sonic_HD.model to Collada/DAE (SGlvl.exe)

3. Import .dae model (3DS MAX)

4. Export scene (OgreMax addon)

5. Convert newly export .mesh to .model (SGlvl.exe)

6. Place .model back into Sonic.ar00 (Generations Archive Editor)

7. Replace original Sonic.ar00 in game files (Using the Cpkredir method)

Does anyone know why the game keeps crashing when I replace the original .ar00 with my 'copy'? unsure.png

I believe it's something to do with my exporting process within 3DS max (stage 5). The addon I'm using is this: http://www.ogremax.com/downloads

This addon for Max allows the user to export:

- As an OrgeMax .model

- As an OrgeMax .mesh

I'm pretty sure the issue is there is no armature/bones in these exports. But I'm not overly sure.

Can some genious give me a hand? sleep.png

Edited by LeBronFilms
  • Thumbs Up 1

Hey Lebron, mind changing this topic title to something like "Sonic Generations hacking/modding assistance thread"? we have been needing a help general thread since the closure of the general mods topic.

I'll notify the modders about this topic if they haven't seen this already.

Hey Lebron, mind changing this topic title to something like "Sonic Generations hacking/modding assistance thread"? we have been needing a help general thread since the closure of the general mods topic.

I'll notify the modders about this topic if they haven't seen this already.

I've done exactly that. And thanks for notifying the modders. I've been wanting to post on Sonic Retro, but they have to give you permission to post.