Awoo.

Is Sonic a franchise that can be truely loved by both genders?

S0NIC-Keyblade 007

*Warning, You'll be hearing about 30 seconds of my personal life*

So a few weeks ago in my Peer Leadership class I was asked to present something special to me infront of the class. I chose to present my Sonic plushy that I got at the 2008 Comic-con. So I explained to the class how important Sonic is to me and that I've been playing Sonic games since I was about three years old. And at the end of my presentation, I asked if my class had any questions or comments. A girl in my class said something along the lines of, "Since most video games are usually aimed at the male audience, would I as a girl find interest into Sonic?" I told her about Blaze the Cat who I believe pretty much symbolizes *girl power* for the Sonic franchise. However, this comment made me think about the balance of male Sonic fans and female Sonic fans. Considering the fact that this franchise's main character is a guy it is expected for most of the fans to be male. But just like Mario, Pikachu, or even Spongebob, I believe that Sonic is a character that can be loved by both genders. My concern though is, does the Sonic franchise really have a fair amount of fan service to offer to both male and female Sonic fans? Up until 1999 when Sonic Adventure was released and introduced Tikal, Amy was the only female Sonic character that we had in the games. I remember a few years ago Cream the Rabbit had quite an "infamous" fanbase and would call Sega sexist because of the fact that Amy was the only girl in the classic era and due to Rogue having a sexy appearance. I of course argued against this and well, it didn't turn out very well. :rolleyes: