Awoo.

Ashura the Glitch: What would a Metroidvania be like with Sonic gameplay?

John43

Hello, I have been a Metroid fan for a long time, and I have been developing a fan game for 3 years, and since I started getting better at it, I started to think more and more about what a Metroidvania with Sonic Gameplay would be like.

After a heavy period of both developing my other project, and speedrunning Metroid Dread, I decided to finally put together a little proof of concept prototype using the Open Surge Engine.

The project uses the fan character, Ashura. He's a famous glitch in from the original Sonic 2. This goes back to my roots, as I made a couple of ROM hacks when I was a kid starring the character (on the ancient version of these forums! I wonder if anybody still has those old ROMs, I doubt it...). 

I welcome any and all feedback and I want this project to become a full playable game with original art.

This thread will be like a dev log of sorts.

Try the prototype here:
https://gamejolt.com/games/ashuratheglitch/878763
Announcement Trailer:

Screenshots:

s009.png.ca060239ad53128a9d478730d4b4c364.pngs010.png.60b8927c6ab0187924fdd1ac276dd1f1.pngs011.png.7b6f8ba2f6350f90ed6f2bbbabd91a50.pngs013.png.27a5c6ef30ddbaceecfe4db0407ca27f.pngs014.png.04628db89574c4ceeaae4ea692bd74c9.pngs016.png.eeab0127041eb31c2453ed3c60d309b6.png

s012.png

Edited by John43
  • Thumbs Up 1

This is a subject I've wondered about, too.  I wish you luck in your endeavours.

• Thumbs Up 1

The way I see it, there are 3 ways I could do a Sonic-Vania in terms of map progression. And I have thought deeply about them.

Method 1:

Structure the game like a tradional Sonic game with Zones that act as seperate levels. Let's say, there's 6 mini Metroidvania zones to clear one at a time with a score tally at the end. This method won't let you revisit past levels until the game is complete with a level select. I would consider this a lite Metroidvania, and would feel more like Sonic CD.